International Conference on Prevention of Genocides

31 MARCH - 01 APRIL 2014



Program 2nd day -

1 April 2014

Political Actions, Reactions and Initiatives

Registration - 8:00 - 9:00
09:00 - 09:05

Welcome and moderator:

Mr. Adama Dieng,

U.N. Special Adviser on the Prevention of Genocide.

09:05 - 09:35

1. Initiatives

Ms. Mô Bleeker,

Special Envoy, Head of the task force for dealing with the Past and Prevention of Atrocities, Swiss Federal department of Foreign Affairs FDFA.

“Global Action Against Mass Atrocity Crimes (GAAMAC) “.

Mr. Stephen Pomper,

US Atrocity Prevention Board.

Mr. Maciej Popowski,

Deputy Secretary General, European External Action Service (EEAS).

"The European Union's multi vector approach in preventing conflicts".

09:35 - 10:05

2. Parliaments

Mr. Anders B. Johnsson,

Secretary General of the Inter-Parliamentary Union.

Mr. Akere Muna,

Chairperson of the African Peer Review Mechanism, President of the Economic Social and Cultural Council of the African Union, ECOSOCC.  President of the Pan African Lawyers Union.

“The APRM  experience on the democratic process in post conflict context”.

Ms. Annemie Neyts-Uyttebroeck,

Member of the European Parliament, Minister of State of Belgium.

“The European Parliament: A Strong Voice for Human Values and Freedom in the World”.

10:30 - 12:30

3. High Level Political Session

Keynote speaker:

H.E. Mr. Didier Reynders,

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of Belgium.


Individual interventions at ministerial level. (tbd)

Institutional Responses

The Council of Europe: H.E. Mr. Thorbjørn Jagland,

Secretary General.

The African Union: H.E. Ms. Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma,

Chair of the Commission of the African Union.

The United Nations: H.E. Mr. Ban Ki-moon,

United Nations Secretary General.

12:30 - 12:40

Chair’s operational Conclusions

13:00 - Lunch



Tel: +32 52 65 00 31